My Family Version of 2016 Back to the Classics Reading Challenge

Okay – I told you that I joined the Ambleside Online forum…well, a couple of weeks ago, someone posted a link to a reading challenge from Karen at Books and Chocolate. (With a name like that, how could I resist the siren temptation to look at that post???  I’m glad that I did!)  So here is the basic idea: she gives you a list of 12 categories and you choose what book you want to read in each category. There are a couple of guidelines to follow, and if you link to her blog and follow those guidelines, then she puts your name in a drawing for several prizes. Pretty cool! 

I was talking to my sister about it and she got enthused so we decided to adapt it to our family, allowing children’s classic literature (because, as C.S.Lewis said “A children’s story that can only be enjoyed by children is not a good children’s story in the least.”) and letting the nieces and nephews that are interested participate. Disclaimer: I did use Karen’s categories, and if you want to participate in her challenge with her rules, please sign up at her blog so you can be eligible for her prizes.

Here are my selections for the 2016 Back to the Classics Challenge (the bold words are the category and the :

  1.  A 19th Century Classic– any book published between 1800 and 1899 – A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
  2.  A 20th Century Classic– any book published between 1900 and 1966 – The Gammage Cup by Carol Kendall
  3.  A classic by a woman authorLaddie by Gene Stratton Porter
  4.  A classic in translation – The Three Musketeers by Alexander Dumas
  5.  A classic by a non-white author Indian Boyhood by Charles Eastman (he is of the Lakota Tribe)
  6.  An adventure classic– can be fiction or non-fiction – Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne
  7.  A fantasy, science fiction, or dystopian classic.Dystopian could include classics like Animal Farm and 1984. – The Once and Future King by T.H. White
  8.  A classic detective novel.It must include a detective, amateur or professional – A Shilling for Candles by Josephine Tey (I really like her Daughter of Time book) 
  9. A classic which includes the name of a place in the title. The Vicar of Wakefield by Oliver Goldsmith. 
  10. A classic which has been banned or censored. If possible, please mention why this book was banned or censored in your review.  The Call of the Wild by Jack London.   From what I read, Hitler banned this book because it promoted self-reliance and independence.  If I have time, I will read The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings…which fit under many categories. But they have been banned and even burned.
  11. Re-read a classic you read in school (high school or college). If it’s a book you loved, does it stand the test of time?  If it’s a book you disliked, is it any better a second time around?  Great Expectations by Charles Dickens. I am trying to decide if I can handle Dickens the second time around. I like happy stories and in high school I thought this was terribly sad and kind of dark.
  12.  A volume of classic short stories. This must be one complete volume, at least 8 short stories. It can be an anthology of stories by different authors, or all the stories can be by a single author.   Hawthorne’s Short Stories by Nathanial Hawthorne. Again, this is an author I struggled with in high school. I found that I really, really like his Greek myth retellings (A Wonder Book and Tanglewood Tales), so I am going to see if a bit more experience and maturity help me to like him more. 

It looks like fun and it gave me the final motivation to put together a list for myself. I keep looking at my overflowing bookcases wishing I had a better plan to read those lovely books…and I think this is a better way than starting with the alphabet and working my way through it. At least this way provides more variety of authors and thoughts, anyway!  ;P 

3 thoughts on “My Family Version of 2016 Back to the Classics Reading Challenge

    1. Andee

      I’m so excited that you posted this. I’m going to do it for myself, even though I’m late in the game and not really doing the challenge officially its fun to have the structure and make the goal for myself to read through all these different types of books. SO COOL!!!

      Reply
  1. Pingback: A Tale of Two Cities | My Soul Doth Delight…

Leave a Reply

