The Book of Mormon: A Pattern for Parenting

In January, I chose a word for the year. Not a big list of goals, but a word that would inspire me to change some things in our home, attitudes, and habits. 

That word was intentional.

I wrote about being tired of reacting instead of being PRO-active. One of the areas I decided to be more intentional about was my choices of books. Another area that needed (still needs) improvement is my parenting skills. Most of us probably feel that way.

I have a lot of books on my shelf that I have purchased over the years thinking that I would read them someday…and I realized that I actually haven’t read some of them.

The Book of Mormon A Pattern for Parenting was one of those books. I had read the first two chapters and never finished it. How I wish I would have finished it sooner. I would be a much better mother!

bom pattern for parenting cover

For those of you who don’t know what The Book of Mormon is, I’ll give a quick background for you.  In the Old Testament days of Jeremiah, there were several other prophets in addtion to Jeremiah.  One of these was Lehi. You don’t find his story in the Old Testament because God instructed Lehi to leave Jerusalem before it was destroyed. The Lord preserved Lehi and his family and a couple of other families from the destruction of Jerusalem by sending them across the ocean to the Americas where they could live in righteousness and peace if they would be obedient to the Lord’s commandments. The story of Lehi’s family is recorded in The Book of Mormon, including the visit Christ made to them after His crucifixion.  The Book of Mormon in no way replaces the Bible – it stands with and strengthens the Bible as another witness that testifies to the divinity of Jesus Christ and His mission in saving mankind from sin and death. 

As the people in the Book of Mormon are human beings like us, they made mistakes and they made good choices. The book reflects this and shows lesson after lesson the people learned as they made those choices.  Author Geri Brinley has taken those lessons taught in the Book of Mormon and shows us how to learn from scriptures the kind of parent we should be. Each principle is illustrated with the examples found in the Book of Mormon, as well as quotes from modern prophets and apostles.

Topics covered and explored in this book are Teach Your Children, Good Parenting, Children’s Needs, and Fight the Good Fight. The appendix is a gold-mine of practical tips and references for all 15 of the principles discussed throughout the 4 main topics including Hands-On Teaching Ideas, Additional Resources for Parents, Parenting Principles Scriptural References, and Scriptural Theme Index. 

I found this to be a book that required some time to read and some time to ponder, so it was not a book I devoured in one sitting. I was reminded, encouraged, challenged, and inspired not just to strive to be better but intentionally DO things to make our family more unified in the gospel of Jesus Christ and our love for each other. This is a great book for any parent who is seeking for more than most parenting books offer!

 The Book of Mormon: A Pattern for Parenting is available as a paperback and a Kindle book from Amazon. 

I did not receive any form of compensation for my opinion. I am just sharing my experience!

One thought on “The Book of Mormon: A Pattern for Parenting

Leave a Reply

