Understanding Children Who Are “More”

A few years ago JitterBug and I were struggling. She was unhappy and I was miserable. A good friend gave me a book called “Raising Your Spirited Child – a guide for parents whose child is MORE intense, sensitive, perceptive, persistent, energetic” by Mary Sheedy Kurcinka to read.

raising spirited child cover

It was illuminating and liberating to me as a mother because I could understand JitterBug’s motivations (she wasn’t really trying to drive me crazy!!) and behavior triggers, thus allowing me to help her avoid or learn to cope with situations better. By doing this, it helped me to also be more calm and understanding when melt downs would occur.

I kid you not, this book changed our lives forever! 

A few months later, I received a catalog from Deseret Book advertising a new book called “Parenting the Ephraim’s Child: Characteristics, Capabilities, and Challenges of Children Who Are Intensely MORE” by Deborah Talmadge and Jamie Theler.  Of course I bought it! 😉

51ANMVx4DcL._SY344_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_BO1,204,203,200_

(photo from Amazon)

I finally made time to read this book and wish I had made myself do it earlier!

I was a captive audience of one because this book – not just another how-to parenting book(!) – this book talked about WHY these children are so much MORE and why they are a blessing that needs to be tended with greater intentional care. I also learned a few things about myself – which helps me stay in control when my MORE characteristics are triggered.

It was full of quotes from modern prophets and scriptures that discuss these children and the mission they have to fulfill in the last  days preparatory to the Second Coming of Jesus Christ. While it is an amazing thing to know that my children have been saved for this time in world history, it is sobering to think of the responsibility this places on me as a parent.

There has been a lot of research and experiences put into this book. The authors have taken many of Ms. Kurcinka’s characteristics (they quote her often) but they have taken her information to a different level by adding the spiritual aspects of the MORE) characteristics. They also quote many other authors as well. Their experiences help lend credence to what they discuss but they do not spend a lot of time discussing these characteristics in detail. So…

My recommendation is that these are great books to read together. One gives more of the physical attributes and the other deals with the spiritual attributes so read together, one would have a much better understanding of one’s child(ren) and how to have a happier and eternal family.

Leave a Reply

