The Continuous Atonement by Brad Wilcox

This book really helped me personalize my view of the Atonement of Jesus Christ and it’s place in my DAILY life. Brother Brad Wilcox has served in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints in many callings, including mission president. Through his callings, as he dealt with people and their need for repentance and forgiveness, he realized that they needed to learn to use the Atonement in a personal, daily way. As he says, “Christ doesn’t just make up the difference. He makes all the difference.”

Continuous Atonement cover

(photo from Amazon)

I’ll never do it again,” we say and then we do it. Most of us realize that perfection is a long term process, but when we find ourselves making some of the same mistakes over and over again, it’s easy to lose hope and get discouraged. However, Brother Wilcox points out that the Lord’s Atonement will be available as long as the perfecting process takes – even if we mess it up again week after week, he helps us start over. This book presents truths about the Atonement in fresh, simple ways that made me realize that I’ve never thought of it like that before.  

Often I think that we feel the Savior is on the top rung of a ladder and we are on the bottom – and that we don’t qualify for His help until we have climbed up by Him on our own. Brother Wilcox painted such a picture of the Savior with His hand reaching for mine – right where I am – lifting me and encouraging me to try again that I can see His hand in my mind’s eye now when I mess up. It has been such an uplifting, encouraging, and hope-filled blessing to view the Atonement so much more personally on a day-to-day basis. As I work at my imperfections, even if at first I don’t succeed – even if at second or third or fourth I don’t succeed, I don’t need to find excuses. I just need to find the Savior and the blessings of His continuous Atonement.  The Savior’s  love is simply there – and so is He, helping me up and encouraging me to keep moving forward – no matter where I am on those ladder rungs.

The Continuous Atonement is available for purchase here.

I don’t get anything from this review – I just liked the book.

3 thoughts on “The Continuous Atonement by Brad Wilcox

  1. karenspath

    A few weeks ago I watched a talk he gave about the Atonement. It was wonderful, and actually sounds a lot like this book. I wonder which came first. Anyway, I think I will have to read this book. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  2. littlemissdebbie28

    Thanks for writing this! Those mistakes that I repeat can be so frustrating for me. Sometimes I actually start to feel embarrassed when I find myself praying for forgiveness for the same things again and again. But I do it anyway, and your post makes me feel more normal. I too love Brad Wilcox’s explanation of the atonement.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

