Education and Relaxation: The Best of Both Worlds

As I mentioned in my post here, I decided to try something new one night a week for our family time. We enjoyed listening to The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe together so much that I thought we might enjoy it as an on-going routine.  After discussing it with Mr. Bug, we decided to begin a puzzle and audio book night for about an hour every Monday evening.  (We have our spiritual Family Home Evening on Sundays.)  So I gathered the whole Narnia series on CD and we broke open some puzzles after dinner.  Everyone had some according to their abilities (and desires, lol):

Puzzle Night 1The older girls started a big puzzle with Mr. Bug and I:

First PuzzleSo far, we’ve completed several puzzles and listened to 5 Narnia books and Winnie the Pooh.

Here are some of the finished puzzles:

Puzzle Night 2

The Goldfinches and Thistles

Puzzle Night - Butterfly

The Animated Butterfly (I refuse to do that again!)

Pencil Puzzle

The Pencils

Flowers and Gazebo Puzzle

Flowers and Gazebo  (whew!)

This is working for us because it is intentionally creating quality family time, teaching teamwork, cooperation, persistence, patience, and the satisfaction of a job well done. PLUS  getting my husband/keeping my children interested in classical books – discussions abound, jokes are made, and relationships are strengthened.

Bonus for me: It ends up with us having two read-aloud books going since we read others for “school.” 😉

Another thing we do is substitute holiday books during the various holidays. An Old Fashioned Thanksgiving by Louisa May Alcott for Thanksgiving and The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus by Amelia C. Houghton are wonderful examples.

I get my audio books from librivox.org or audible.com.

I am linking up to In My Homeschool: Sharing What Works and  Creative Learning on Friday. Come check them out!

One thought on “Education and Relaxation: The Best of Both Worlds

Leave a Reply

