Sometimes Real Life Stinks…

It’s been a while since I posted.

Life happens. 🙂

wreath

Remember I posted about the cute little birds growing in our wreath on the front door?

I have been taking pictures of them every few days…

These are baby house finches. They are not any bigger than the end of my pinkie from the first knuckle down.

Baby birds #1

They survived some pretty ferocious storms during the next couple of days.

This is what they looked like about 4 days later:

Baby birds #2

It was about this time that I decided that I am glad that I am not a bird – and that I am not really all that excited about them living on my front screen… here’s why:

Bird poop. Yuck!

I know that picture is awful, but look close and you see the poop.

Right on the glass door, the wreath… and let us not forget the nest (look on the left):

baby birds #3

Ick!

Couple of days after that, they were getting their feathers pretty quickly.

These two pictures ( above and below) were taken at the same time from each side of the nest.

I like that you can see how much bigger their beaks are now. They sure are growing, and Mom and Dad are very busy!!

Baby birds #4

Then a day or so later (Wednesday) I notice a dead bird wing and feathers under our park bench…and realize that I have seen Dad a lot lately, but not Mom…   HMMM! 😦

On Saturday, I decide to take a picture for this post…

Baby birds #5

Aren’t they cute??? There are five of them – and all look to be about the same size as Dad! 🙂

That I night I heard a “thump” on the front door and my heart sank clear to my toes.

Did I mention that we also had a stray cat have kittens in our yard – or the neighbors yard…depends on which child you ask?  😉

Unfortunately, the cat had scaled our front door and was on her way back for dessert!

Sometimes Real Life stinks…

Baby bird #6

but there are blessings and miracles along the way to help us hold to our faith and hope of better things to come.

We named him Nemo. 😉

We managed to save Nemo overnight and the next morning placed him in the mailbox hoping that Dad would notice him and take care of him.  Which he did…thankfully.

Nemo managed to confuse the mailman on Monday but by Tuesday had flown the coop!

Here’s hoping he made it!!

4 thoughts on “Sometimes Real Life Stinks…

  1. Brenda

    Awwww, the ending to this charming & cute baby bird story is not what I expected…poop all over nest and then attack of the stray cat! I’m SO glad there’s somewhat of a happy ending though!:) I really enjoyed your thoughts about life. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. suecahalane

    I had to raise my birdfeeders by a foot recently- we had a stray cat who would sit under them & grab any unsuspecting bird – so sad to watch! I’m glad Nemo’s dad found him in the mailbox!!

    I just found your blog, I’m your newest follower!
    ✿Sue✿
    Science for Kids Blog

    Reply
  3. Richele

    I’m so happy Nemo made it and there was a silver lining to that cloud. We just lost “our” baby chickadees and the emotions are running high around here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

