Yippie! Time to make Homemade Strawberry Freezer Jam!

Ahhh! Spring begins the delightful toil of putting up food storage for the year. Last year we had so much Strawberry Freezer jam that I didn’t make any.

During the winter we made a dent in it (we shared a bunch with some friends – so we didn’t actually eat that much, lol) , so this year I got to make 19 1/2 pints of Strawberry Freezer Jam.

I started making the less sugar version about 4-5 years ago and prefer it to the more sugary version I had eaten until then.

Fresh Strawberry Freezer Jam

When the berries go on sale (usually 4 pounds for $6), I buy 20 pounds just for jam. Since I use less sugar, the recipe calls for more berries.  The berries this year were perfect!! Don’t they look good?? 🙂

Now that the jam is done, I bought some more berries to wash and clean. I will slice them and place in freezer bags for smoothies all year long. We eat smoothies a lot in the summer as “ice cream” or just for part of our lunch.  This is a great way to stretch our budget and still have “fresh” fruits and veggies all year.

Sometimes I surprise the kiddos and make a vanilla sheet cake and we have our version of a Strawberry Shortcake dessert.

6 thoughts on “Yippie! Time to make Homemade Strawberry Freezer Jam!

  1. Brenda

    Yummy! I was first introduced to the taste of freezer jam when a friend gave me a pint jar of peach freezer jam and a loaf of bread. That was about 20 years ago and that memory always comes back whenever I see it. The taste is like eating fresh fruit spread.

    Reply
  2. sheraz2011 Post author

    It is 1 package of Ball Simple Creations No Cook Freezer Jam Fruit Pectin, 1 1/2 cups of sugar, and 4 cups crushed berries. You mix the sugar and pectin, add the fruit, stir for 3 minutes, place in your containers for 30 minutes and then put in the freezer. So easy!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: FOOD – SUPER EASY YUMMY BERRY FREEZER JAM | My Monkeys and Me

Leave a Reply

