The O’Malley Series by Dee Henderson

For my heavier reading this week (I mean month, ha!) I have been reading Last Child in the Woods: Saving Our Children from Nature Deficit Disorder by Richard Louv and the new Square Foot Gardening by Mel Bartholomew.  I am also reading The Story of Rome by Mary MacGregor as preparation to writing up our Ancient Rome studies. Alongside those I am trying to stay on top of my class readings for church, my personal scripture study, and I am studying lessons and talks about how to teach our children by and with the Spirit, plus the books for school…sometimes I run for the light, relaxing reads!

I enjoy mysteries.  I like the suspense, the intrigue, the puzzle, and the romantic angles that are frequently a part of the story.  My problem is finding an author that uses higher standards in their books: no sexual intimacy, no swearing, and respectful of religion – and those who have faith.  That eliminates a lot of books!!

Upon the recommendation of the librarian, I decided to check out The O’Malley Series by Dee Henderson.  She is able to craft mysteries using characters that capture your emotions and interest as she explores their world. I was hooked with the first and enjoyed all eight books of the series.  Yes, there are eight!  

The O’Malley’s are a family crafted from love – they are all orphans that met as they were individually placed in an orphanage when they were young.  After they were released from the orphanage, they decided to adopt each other and create a family legally.  Each book focuses on one member of the O’Malley’s and follows them as they come to a cross-roads in their lives: professionally and/or personally.  Since they all chose interesting careers, their adventures are many: one is a police negotiator, a US Marshall, a medical examiner, a fireman, a paramedic, a pediatric doctor, and one is a trauma counselor.  (Not bad for a bunch of orphans, huh? 😉 )

This month,  I have read The Negotiator (Kate) and am in the middle of The Guardian (Marcus).  I am working on collecting these from the used book store so I can re-visit them whenever I feel like it.

I also read and enjoyed her book The Witness – NOT an O’Malley book.

You can read the first chapters of all these books and more at www.deehenderson.com –

Leave a comment and let me know who your favorite authors are – maybe we’ll all find some new friends! 

One thought on “The O’Malley Series by Dee Henderson

  1. Pingback: My Guilty Pleasure! | Following His Path

Leave a Reply

