“The Story of Greece” Study Guide

acropolis-athens

In August I posted about our Ancient Greece and Rome studies and talked about the resources I was going to use.  Well – ahem – those plans didn’t work the way I had hoped. 

 We were trying to do the Famous Men of Greece as our spine at this point, but JitterBug intensely disliked the false gods, and I felt disoriented because it is stories of the men within Greek history (duh!), and it felt choppy and disconnected.  In October, I got a Kindle and was able to load my Yesterday’s Classics (225 books of great stuff, btw!) and started reading the Ancient Greece books.

I read many of the books about Ancient Greece – several of them spines (or comprehensive histories) of Ancient Greece.  I found myself saying  “oh! I know who he is!”  or  “oh! that makes sense now!”.  I realize now that I didn’t know enough Greek history to be able to place them in history at all, much less in the proper place and context. 

 As I read, I realized that I could create my own course of study using what I already had from the Yesterday’s Classics Kindle Collection and making use of YouTube videos.  Here’s what I did:

1.  I cross-referenced all my physical, audio, and ebooks that pertain to that time of history (Ancient Greek has four major eras of historical merit and many other sub-eras within those).  I kept this list at the front of my guide for easy reference.  This way, I can assign biographies, books about battles, myths, etc as we are interested.  We always manage to get interested in something along the way!

2.  I listed each chapter of the books I plan to use as a lesson for each day of study.

3.  Then with that lesson or reading, I listed

  • timeline figures,
  • other books or pictures that will enhance the reading,
  • additional reading chapters from Famous Men,
  • coloring pages,
  • and any videos that I thought would be good for that chapter.

When I was done, I felt like I was on top of what we are studying, and excited! Also, all those listed things give me ideas to pick and choose from on a daily basis – I don’t have to do them all.

I also put together several PDF documents with color illustrations from my spine (my Kindle pictures are small black and white), coloring pages, art and architectural examples, and more.

Here is my The Story of Greece – Module Guide.

Here is The Story of Greece – Color Illustrations for Module Guide to go along with it.

Here is my Ancient Greek Art and Architecture file.

Here is a brief little chart of The Gods of Ancient Greece.

Free Greek coloring pages are in this link.

I printed all of those and spiral bound them so everything I want is right at my fingertips – as long as we all have our Kindles 😉  JitterBug even asks if we can do more now.  LOVE IT!

Another fun way to learn about Ancient Greek myths is to read A Wonder Book by Nathaniel Hawthorne.  Having to choose from so many books and not use them all is sooo hard for me!

You may also purchase The Story of Greece using this link or read it free online:

http://www.mainlesson.com/display.php?author=macgregor&book=greece&story=_contents

What are your favorite Ancient Greek resources?

One thought on ““The Story of Greece” Study Guide

  1. Mama

    I don’t have anything particularly witty, deep or specific to say. I just wanted to let you know that I stumbled upon your blog and can’t get enough of…well, all of it (; Just wanted to let you know that I’m appreciating what you share.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

