Chasing Fireflies

Fireflies in the Garden
By Robert Frost
Here come real stars to fill the upper skies,
    And here on earth come emulating flies,
That though they never equal stars in size,
(And they were never really stars at heart)
    Achieve at times a very star-like start.
Only, of course, they can’t sustain the part.
One of our summer traditions is to catch fireflies and watch them glow in the jars! My mom shared  this poem from Robert Frost with me yesterday and reminded me of our earlier adventure this year that I haven’t posted about or put into the nature journals.
Your eyes are fine – my camera wasn’t set right for the evening light.  =)
Did you know that fireflies are an endangered species?  I didn’t either.  I found that out when I  was on the site firefly.org. There are truly amazing shots of the fireflies glowing in the evening on that page.  Check it out.
2 thoughts on “Chasing Fireflies

  1. Mary Jo Rasmussen

    I didn’t know that I liked Robert Frost’s poetry until I read that poem! I’ve always loved fireflies. That’s really a cute picture of Jitterbug and Horseybug.

    Reply
  2. karenspath

    Perfectly lovely! It kind of reminds me of Wordworth’s If Thou Derive Thy Light From Heaven… I think I’m on a Wordsworth kick today. =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

