Add some pizzazz!

 It has been so hot and dry that in order to help the air conditioner be effective we kept the curtains closed.  After a while I was feeling pretty blah and energy-less.  One day it occurred to me that I was seriously missing COLOR in my days (as well as some vitamin D, lol).

On the 4th of July while my brother and sister in law were visiting we were talking about how to paint the house to reflect my personality.  I had already chosen some new furniture, throw pillows, and curtains.  Those were up and still not bringing me that feeling of “home” I was craving.  I talked about painting an accent wall behind the couch an oatmeal type color.  My SIL said red.

RED??? Paint my walls RED???  It is my favorite color – but RED WALLS???  Really?

I thought about it for a few weeks and decided to try it.  I took one of my throw pillows to Lowe’s and matched a red shade to it.

Man, oh man!!  The butterflies as I put that first coat on.

Here is what it looks like now:

After it dried, I LOVE IT.

I am thinking of painting the table and the bookcase, but am not sure about that yet.  The curtains match the pillows.

Every time I see it, I have a little jolt of energy, satisfaction, and enjoyment.

It is my Happy Wall.  =)

2 thoughts on “Add some pizzazz!

Leave a Reply

