A Mom’s Lesson in Anger Management

Lately I have no energy, no thoughts, no real desire to do anything.

I’m tired.  I nag.  I am irritable.  I yell sometimes.

I don’t like being this way.

I was reminded the other day of Galatians 6:9 when another mom mentioned that she was feeling down and wondering if anything she did actually matters.

I decided to look it up in my Bible.  While I was reading that verse about not being weary of well doing – that everything is reaped in its due season, Galatians 6:6 caught my eye.  It says:

“Let him that is taught in the word communicate unto him that teacheth in all good things.”

Noticing the little “a” by communicate, I looked in the footnotes of the page.  Footnote 6a told me to look in the Topical Guide.  Curious, I did look.  Under Communication, the Topical Guide lists a bunch of other scriptures pertaining to this topic.  I read on.

 Colossians 3: 8:

“But now ye also put off all these; anger, wrath, maliceblasphemy, filthy communication out of your mouth.”

Yikes.  I feel pretty bad about my anger and yelling.  I had just read in Jacob 2:9 where he said (among other things):

“…instead of consoling and healing their wounds; and those who have not been wounded, instead of feasting upon the pleasing word of God have daggers placed to pierce their souls and wound their delicate minds.”

I immediately felt like I should apply those words to my bitter and angry words born of tiredness, frustration, and guilt over my lack of get-up-and-go.  I am piercing my children’s hearts and wounding their souls with my impatient or angry reactions.  (Jacob wasn’t specifically addressing anger and wrath, but we are to liken all scriptures unto ourselves for learning and profit.)

Jacob 3: 10 cautions us further:

 “Wherefore, ye shall remember your children, how that ye have grieved their hearts because of the example that ye have set before them; and also, remember that ye may, because of your filthiness, bring your children unto destruction, and their sins be heaped upon your heads at the last day.”

I have seen this grieving in my children – when I yell, or am angry, or say something I shouldn’t have.  It never fails to make me sad and ever so sorry that I lost my temper.  After re-reading that scripture that day- it really struck me that day that my anger could actually cause my  children to divorce themselves from the family, the gospel, and ultimately, our Savior Jesus Christ.

Jacob 2: 21 shares  “…the one being is as precious in His sight as the other.” – 

Ephesians 4: 29 explains how we are to speak to one another:

“Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers.”

Jacob 2: 8 explains that when we do this, we share “…the pleasing word of God, yea, the word which healeth the wounded soul.”

Doctrine and Covenants 29: 1 says:  “Listen to the voice of Jesus Christ, your Redeemer, the Great aI Am, whose arm of mercy hath atoned for your sins;”

Through the mercy and grace of my Savior, Jesus Christ I am able to work on this short-coming, to repent, and to become free of this sin. I know this because He has promised all of us:

“Lift up your hearts and be glad, for I am in your midst, and am your advocate with the Father; … …Whatsoever ye shall ask in faith, being united in prayer according to my command, ye shall receive.” ~ D&C 29: 5-6

I am praying for the faith, the patience, and the ability to change my anger-reaction.

What words of wisdom help you as you change your ways and strive to be more Christ-like?

3 thoughts on “A Mom’s Lesson in Anger Management

  1. Alta Lloyd

    Don’t be so hard on yourself….no one is perfect…we grow one step at a time.
    Remember “This too shall pass”
    The scripture chase was great and insightful.
    Love,
    Alta

    Reply
  2. Mary Jo Rasmussen

    I noticed a great improvement … keep up the good work! Love you. I, too, enjoyed the scripture chase- very much.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Unglued! | My Soul Doth Delight…

Leave a Reply

