The BEST GF/DF Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

I like to bake cookies…that wonderful smell signals comfort and love to my family.  One of our favorite cookies is this Double Chocolate Chip Cookie.  It is soft, chewy, and very good.   I adapted this recipe from one my sister had given me years ago…(I think it was off the Hershey Cocoa can)!

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 cup EarthBalance butter sticks, softened

1 ½ cups sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla

2 scant cups Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose Baking Flour

1 tsp xanthan gum

2/3 cup cocoa

¾ tsp baking soda

¼ tsp salt

1 cup chocolate chips

Bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes.  Makes 3 ½ dozen cookies.  Best eaten in 1-2 days or frozen until eaten.  Dough freezes well.

6 thoughts on “The BEST GF/DF Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Mary Jo Rasmussen

    These are really great cookies! You don’t have to be GF/DF (it took me a moment to realize that was gluten free/dairy free) to enjoy these. = )

    Reply
    1. sheraz2011 Post author

      You can get some tiny individual packages like the yeast packages at Walmart. It is in the gluten free section in the canned fruits/veggies aisle. For you, this is a good alternative to the larger, more expensive bag.
      Since I use it almost everyday, I need the bigger bags. You can get bigger bags at Whole Foods and health food stores.
      Also – Bob’s Red Mill will ship a big one right to your home, along with whatever flours you want. You pay shipping too; but I am finding that I get the same pricing as the stores, and so it ends up cheaper to not have to pay for the stores shipping, handling and shelf space – as well as the gas to get here to there and back. That adds a lot of money in gas and time.

      Reply
  2. Karen Tezen

    These are a family favorite for my family. I love finding new recipes ad then sharing them! I’m glad you could adapt them.

    Reply
  3. Brenda

    Sheila, you have given me so much inspiration to cook and bake without gluten! As you know, there are some in my family that are sensitive to wheat and other grains and it is NOT easy re-learn how to bake without the so familiar flours. Thanks for making these cookies while we were visiting you. When I ate them, I KNEW I was going to be able to joyfully make the transition just fine!! These are sooo yummmmmy!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

