Gluten-Free Flours…the hunt is over!

Is there anything more annoying than having to MAKE a flour just so you can make one recipe you’re not even sure you’ll like???

After two years of experimenting within our sensitivities, allergies and budget, I have found one flour that I use in almost everything:  Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose Baking Flour.  It is made from garbanzo beans, fava beans, sorghum, tapioca starch and potato starch. Certified wheat, gluten and dairy free.  DOUBLE the amount of fiber and proteins of whole wheat flour. MUCH healthier than rice flour.

It even trades 1 cup to 1 cup of wheat flour, but requires the addition of some xanthan gum for a binder.

Quick tips to use this flour:

1.  I have noticed that this flour is a bit heavier than other flours I’ve used so I use what I call scant cups.  This means that instead of leveling off my flour measurements evenly on the cup edge, I deliberately leave a bit less in the cup – no more than a couple of teaspoons, though.

2.   When making a 9×13 cake, use a jelly roll or big cookie sheet (with sides) to bake it. The cake will bake evenly and thoroughly, leaving you much happier. I usually bake mine for 20-25 minutes, but you will need to figure out which times work best for your recipes.

3.   Quick bread recipes were hard to bake right until I realized that if I divided the dough up a bit more, the bread would bake better. Example: my yummy wheat pumpkin bread recipe makes two loaves of bread, so I simply make three with my adapted recipe and it comes out lovely.

4.  Don’t taste the raw dough! This flour is yucky eaten raw, but once baked all the raw bean flavor disappears. I have only noticed a nutty taste in my Chocolate Chip Cookies the day after I bake them, giving the cookies a faint peanut butter chocolate chip cookie taste. I am not going to argue with that. Mmmm!

I will share some of our favorite recipes with this flour in other posts.

This flour is available from Walmart in the gluten free aisle (the canned fruit/veggie aisle) and from health food stores including Whole Foods.

NOTE: Because this flour is made with beans, it can cause intestinal distress (gas, bloating). After a few times of eating this flour, your body will adjust and it will not bother you any more. My advice:  use it sparingly at first.  =)

Disclaimer:  My opinions are my own. BRM did not ask me to do anything with their flour. It is available in my part of the country, so I tried it and liked it.

2 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Flours…the hunt is over!

  1. Brenda

    I just read of someone “pre-baking” the bean flour in an oven to take away the raw bean taste for recipes that may not be baked. It may give “cookie dough” a better taste too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

