Tender Mercies

My gratitude for the blessings in my life has grown so much the last few weeks as I have taken the challenge from Elder David A. Bednar to learn to identify and look for the Tender Mercies of the Lord (click for  video) in my daily life.

Elder Bednar said that he had pondered on this, and his conclusion was that   “…the Lord’s tender mercies are the very personal and individualized blessings, strength, protection, assurances, guidance, loving-kindnesses, consolation, support, and spiritual gifts which we receive from, and because of and through the Lord Jesus Christ.” (General Conference, April 2005)

President Eyring also talked about recognizing the blessings we receive as we ponder and record the Hand of the Lord in our lives every single day.  He says of his experience:  “…more than gratitude began to grow in my heart.  Testimony grew.  I became ever more certain that our Heavenly Father hears and answers prayers.  I felt more gratitude for the softening and refining that come because of the Atonement of the Savior Jesus Christ.”  (General Conference, Oct. 2007)

As I begin this new year, I am determined to take this seriously – and physically DO IT!  =)   My soul doth rejoice;  as I do it I feel the hand of the Lord in so many ways in my life.  The purpose of this blog is to record and share some of these tender mercies as I experience the joy I have in my life as a wife, mother, homeschooling teacher-mom, special diet researcher, planner and cook, friend, a Latter-Day Saint woman, and most importantly, as a beloved daughter of my Heavenly Father. 

9 thoughts on “Tender Mercies

  1. Jennifer Rasmussen

    Sheila, I love this blog and the idea of using it as a tool to help you recognize and record the tender mercies in your life. I have a tender mercies journal. Originally I had an additional journal for everyday experiences, but I soon realized that all of those everyday experiences are tender mercies from the Lord. Thanks for sharing! Love you!

    Reply
    1. sheraz2011 Post author

      I agree Jen. It’s hard to separate it, because everything good in my life is a tender mercy. =) Plus, it’s easier to keep track of in one place, lol. Love you too!

      Reply
  2. Connie Yeates

    Sheila,
    Mom told me about this blog. I am glad you sent out the link. I am looking forward to seeing your recipes and trying them out! I really enjoyed the ones I was able to taste when I was there. I also want to go back and read the Confernece talk of Elder Bednar.
    Love ya
    Connie

    Reply
  3. Mary Jo Rasmussen

    Loved all of your comments. I have loved that talk since the first time I heard it. We actually had a tender mercy today. I am trying to pare down and get rid of all the extraneous stuff in my house. In the sewing room is a roll of quilt batting so big that I can’t even get my arms around it more than half way. I hated to have to give it up. Today my my husband said, “I just had the thought that we should take the batt to the quilting shop and see if they will take it back.” So we did. We bought it over 3 years ago and had no receipt. The owner said that she had just sold a roll of batting this morning. Did I remember how much I paid for it? So I told her and she said she would take it back. She gave me what I paid for it! And it was a good thing for her, too, as the price of batting has gone up. Wasn’t that neat: the right person was in the store, she needed to replace her inventory, and the price was right for both of us! I call that a tender mercy – a sweet little blessing tailored to my needs. = )

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Looking forward to more Tender Mercies | My Soul Doth Delight…

Leave a Reply

